Yauatcha

Dim Sum

yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese02

YAUATCHA
15-17 Broadwick Street
Soho, London, W1F ODL
TEL: +44 (0) 20 7494 8888 – SITE WEB

Being a huge fan of Dim Sum ever since the four years I lived in China, Yauatcha was on my must-try list when we stopped in London for a short weekend.
I’d already told you about my experience in the Dim Sum palace Maxim’s in Hong-Kong here.

At Yauatcha’s, you won’t find any trolleys filled with baskets, but a long menu with a list of all dim sums you can possibly imagine. Steamed, pan fried, deep-fried, almost 70 different kinds are available here. A total dream for me.

So of course, we were all crazy to try everything. Along with Sarah and I, two friends of ours joined us for this lunch in London, which made the sharing even more interesting. Dim sums filled with soup that you have to carefully suck after biting them, barbecued pork Ban Bao, deep fried spring rolls with shiitake mushrooms and truffle, “Har Gau” classics with shrimps, caramelized spare ribs with jason, Cheung Fun with shrimps, fried than wrapped in a rice paper sheet, shrimp and cuttlefish balls wrapped in spinach leaves then steamed, and a plate of baby pak choi sautéed with garlic and ginger. We try everything and make little awe and wonder noises, while trying to cut everything into four. The dim sums were delicate and refined, and Sarah enjoyed every little bite of this cuisine she only really tried out for the first time.

The place is large and filled with low round tables around which clients are invited to sit in low chairs. The blue glass walls make the place look like a kind of chic giant aquarium, with a Chinese touch to it. The china is simply really pretty, light pink and baby blue flower shaped plates and silvery chopsticks.
In the other room, amazing desserts are displayed behind a glass counter, mixing Asian influences and French technique. Matcha tea, caramel, black sesame or rose shaped cakes, everything is pretty. We finish off this culinary experience with a little coconut and mango cake to share, light as the air.

In terms of pricing, the bill is rather decent, 35 pounds each for the amazing meal we shared.

yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese05yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese08 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese04yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese10 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese01 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese09 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese03 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese07 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese06

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Yauatcha

Dim Sum

yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese02

YAUATCHA
15-17 Broadwick Street
Soho, London, W1F ODL
TEL: +44 (0) 20 7494 8888 – SITE WEB

Fan inconditionnelle de Dim Sum depuis mes quatre années passées en Chine, Yauatcha était pour moi une halte incontournable lors de notre dernier week-end à Londres.
Je vous avais déjà raconté mon expérience dans le restaurant de dim sum « Maxim’s » à Hong Kong ici.

Chez Yauatcha, pas de chariots remplis de petits paniers, mais une carte interminable détaillant la liste de tous les dim sum imaginables. Vapeur, poêlés, frits, près de 70 références se trouvent sur le menu. Le rêve total et absolu.

Forcément on s’emballe. Accompagnée de deux amies retrouvées pour ce lunch hors du commun, on peut se permettre de goûter à encore plus de choses. Dim Sum à la soupe dont il faut délicatement aspirer le contenu après en avoir croqué le chapeau, Ban Bao au « barbecued pork », spring rolls frits au shiitaké et à la truffe, classiques « har gau » aux crevettes, spare ribs caramélisés au jasmin, Cheung Fun aux crevettes frits puis délicatement enrobés d’une feuille de riz, boulettes de crevettes et seiches emballés dans des feuilles d’épinards puis cuites à la vapeur, et finalement, une assiette de baby pak choi sautés à l’ail et au gingembre. On goûte à tout et on s’émerveille en essayant tant bien que mal de couper tout en quatre. Les Dim Sum sont délicats et raffinés, et Sarah se délecte de cette fine cuisine chinoise qu’elle connaissait trop peu.

La salle est grande est spacieuse, remplies de tables basses rondes autour desquels les clients s’asseyent dans de petits fauteuils. Les parois bleues vitrées donnent à l’ensemble une allure d’aquarium géant, et confèrent à l’espace une ambiance qui mêle le très chic avec le kitsch à la chinoise. La vaisselle quant à elle est tout simplement ravissante, on a l’impression de jouer à la dinette pendant tout le repas avec nos jolies assiettes roses pâle ou bleu layette en forme de petites fleurs.

Dans la salle d’à côté se trouve une pâtisserie qui prépare de jolis desserts mêlants les influences Asiatiques à la technique française. Matcha, caramel, sésame noir ou gâteau en forme de rose, tout est beau. On termine cette expérience en partageant un petit gâteau à la noix de coco et à la mousse de mangue, léger comme l’air.

Niveau prix, l’addition est correcte avec une note de 35 pounds par personne pour un véritable festin.

yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese05yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese08 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese04yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese10 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese01 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese09 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese03 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese07 yauatcha-london-londres-dims-sum-yamcha-tea-steam-dumpling-china-town-hong-kong-bouchee-vapeur-restaurant-resto-brussels-bruxelles-brusselskitchen-chinois-cantonais-chinese-cantonese06

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *