Standard

Sourdough pizza

11-13 Rue de Moscou,
1060 Saint-Gilles
instagram
Monday to Friday from 12pm to 2pm & 5.30pm to 10pm,
sat 5.30pm to 10pm
sunday from 12pm to 8.30pm
Pizza 7,50€ – 12,50€

The pizza dough is what stands out at Standard. The toppings aren’t bad either, and we truly enjoyed both our pizzas, sitting uncomfortably in my car, but the dough, mamma mia. We’re not an Italian restaurant, said Michel, the manager of the group’s new establishments. That may be true, but the pizzaïolo is Italian, and it is him that we remember. You could feel he made his sourdough dough with love, when he cut our pizza with scissors, in order to show us the holes formed in the crust. And that was truly beautiful, and it’s also what made us want to come back, to eat our pizzas installed at one of the small tables at Standard this time.

The interior also caught our attention. Like the first establishment in Antwerp, it’s both big and cosy, and it makes you want to book one of the two big tables near the windows to come eat with a large group of friends (even if anything right now makes us want to eat with a group of friends, of course). On the menu, rather few choices, and that’s something we like too. Some more classic pizzas with a twist, like the N’duja (13,50€), served with kale instead of friarelli. But also more twisted pizzas, like the one with old Bruges, leeks and bacon (12,50€) – whose title makes us think of a quiche.

Let’s get back to our pizza dough. Their sourdough, initially made from the juice of grapes growing at the foot of the volcano Vesuvius, gives their pizza dough its particularity, light – yes, light – and even quite easy to digest. And the second thing that makes this place special: some pizzas are pre-baked, vacuum-packed and available to take away (at the Petit Mercado for example), to be reheated for a few minutes in the oven at home. We tried those too, and it was a real success. We’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Standard

Pizza au levain

11-13 Rue de Moscou,
1060 Saint-Gilles
instagram
du lundi au vendredi de 12h à 14h et 17h30 à 20h,
le samedi de 17h30 à 22h
le dimanche de 12h30 à 20h30
Pizza : 7,50€ – 14,50€

C’est la pâte à pizza qui sort du lot chez Standard. Les toppings ne sont pas mal non plus, et on s’est régalées à déguster notre butin, installées à l’arrière de ma voiture, mais la pâte, mamma mia. Nous ne sommes pas un resto italien, nous a pourtant dit Michel, le responsable des nouveaux établissements du groupe. Peut-être, mais le pizzaïolo lui, est bien italien, et c’est de lui dont on se souvient. La pâte au levain, on sent qu’il l’a faite avec amour, quand il découpe notre pizza avec des ciseaux, juste pour pouvoir nous montrer les alvéoles formées dans la croute. Et c’est ça qui est beau, et c’est ce détail qui nous aura donné envie de revenir, pour déguster nos pizzas installées à une des petites tables de chez Standard cette fois.

L’intérieur aussi, a retenu notre attention. Comme le premier établissement à Anvers, c’est à la fois grand et cosy, et ça donne envie d’y réserver une des deux grandes tablées près des fenêtres, pour venir y manger avec un groupe de potes. (Même si tout en ce moment donne envie de manger avec un groupe de potes, on s’entend bien). A la carte, assez peu de choix, et ça aussi on aime bien. Quelques pizzas plus classiques avec un twist, comme la N’duja (13,50€), servie avec du chou kale à la place des friarelli. Mais aussi des pizzas plus twistées, comme celle au vieux Bruges, poireaux et lardons (12,50€) – dont l’intitulé nous fait carrément plus penser à une quiche.

Revenons à notre pâte à pizza. Leur levain, fabriqué initialement avec le jus de raisins qui poussent au pied du volcan Vésuve, donne toute sa particularité à leur pâte à pizza, légère – oui, légère – et même assez digeste. Et la deuxième particularité de l’endroit : quelques pizzas sont précuites, emballées sous-vides et disponibles à emporter (au Petit Mercado notamment), à réchauffer quelques minutes au four chez soi. On a testé, et on survalide. On reviendra.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *