Le Transvaal

Seasonal bistro cuisine

40 AVENUE Joseph Chaudron, 1160 auderghem
02 660 95 76 – SITE WEB
Open for lunch from Monday to Friday and for dinner from Wednesday to Friday

It’s in a rather residential neighbourhood, in the heart of Auderghem that Raphaël de Sadeleer chose to open his first restaurant. You’ll therefore make your way to the Transvaal thanks to the restaurant’s reputation which didn’t take long to spread through word of mouth across Brussels.

On a cute little street corner, in an ancient butchery shop tiled from floor to ceiling stuck in between two houses, Raphaël prepares a hearty yet delicate cuisine, centered around seasonal ingredients. The little terrace, filled with bright yellow chairs and surrounded by vines, reminds us of the South of France, and is just the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of dry rosé to start a beautiful evening. In the top corner of the menu, the chef recommends you take your time, which we’re more than happy to do.
We start off with a stuffed zucchini flower to share (15€), filled with asparagus and prawns and served with asparagus “vichyssoise”. Pure bliss. We continue with a sea bass filet served with asparagus and grilled fennel, and a delicious Mediterranean raw vegetable tartare (26€), and a tortelloni dish prepared al ragu and stuffed with San Daniel ham (19€). Needless to say we’re having a great time.
If the weather does get quite chilly when the sun has come down, it’s also a perfect excuse to continue the evening inside without any regrets. That way we get to take our time to observe the ancient elements from the previous butcher shop, reminding us of the similar decor of La Buvette.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Le Transvaal

Cuisine bistronomique de saison

40 AVENUE Joseph Chaudron, 1160 auderghem
02 660 95 76 – SITE WEB
OUVERT Le midi du lundi AU VENDREDI,
Le soir du mercredi au vendredi

C’est dans un quartier résidentiel en plein coeur d’Auderghem que Raphaël de Sadeleer a choisi d’ouvrir son premier restaurant. On viendra donc jusqu’au Transvaal plutôt via le bouche à oreille et grâce à la réputation de l’endroit, qui n’aura pas tardé à se répandre dès l’ouverture.

Sur un petit coin de rue mignonne comme tout, dans une ancienne boucherie carrelée du sol au plafond coincée entre deux maisons, Raphaël prépare une cuisine qu’on pourrait qualifier de bistronomique et gourmande, faisant la part belle aux produits de saison. La petite terrasse, remplie de chaises jaunes Ricard et entourée de vignes, a des airs du sud de la France et est tout simplement parfaite pour déguster un verre de rosé bien sec en profitant du soleil, avant de commencer le repas. Dans un petit coin de la carte, le chef vous invite d’ailleurs à prendre le temps, ce qu’on s’applique à faire avec plaisir.
On commence en partageant une fleur de courgette farcie aux asperges et gambas, accompagnée d’une vichyssoise d’asperges blanches et de piment d’Espelette (15€). Un régal. On poursuit avec un filet de bar bio accompagné d’asperges vertes, de fenouil braisé et d’un délicieux tartare de légumes crus méditerranéens ultra rafraichissant (26€), et d’un plat de tortelloni “al ragu” au jambon San Daniel (19€). On est bien.
Si le temps se rafraîchit une fois le soleil couché, il nous permet aussi de profiter de la petite salle intérieure sans remords, et de prendre le temps d’observer les anciens éléments de la boucherie d’origine qui ne vont pas sans nous rappeler ceux de La Buvette.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *