Savage

22 rue de la paix,
1050 Ixelles
website – 02 513 41 65
from tuesday to saturday, from 6:30 to 10:30pm
wednesday and friday from 12 to 2pm
closed on sunday and monday
lunch : 15,50€
4 course menu : 36€

It’s super hard not to be completely in love with Savage’s concept. A restaurant where meat and fish dishes are considered to be sides, and vegetables are the real deal. It fits perfectly with the times we live in, it’s simply right on point. For Joël, the chef, it’s something he’s been used to as a kid, and it makes even more sense to him now.

So on the menu, that means a lunch at 15,50€ and a 4-course dinner menu at 36€, vegetarian only. The idea is that the menu should be sufficient on its own, but if you feel like it, you’re free to order fish or meat as extras. That’s why we did, to live the experience fully, with a roasted duck breast to share, perfect with our mains of seaweed, broccoli, potatoes and apples, served with a delicious lacto-fermented juice. The duck dish however, though delicious, was quite big, even for two. Probably a size worth reconsidering to stay true to the concept. But if you had to remember one thing is that we loved our meal, which we enjoyed on one of the loveliest terraces of the neighborhood.

The plates – on which coffins, butterflies and skulls captivate your attention – were hand-painted in Holland and illustrated by people with disabilities. They’re very different from what we see everywhere these days, and we simply loved them. Inside, the decor of the former Kipkot – whose former owner Louis is now Chef Joel’s partner – has also been revamped from scratch. It’s a darker vibe, more elegant too, with an open kitchen to see the chef while remaining in an intimate atmosphere. We can already picture ourselves seated at one of the tables, coming back to try the menu in the evening.

One last thing: if you pass by, don’t leave without having gone to the bathroom…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Savage

a plant-based experience

22 rue de la paix,
1050 Ixelles
site – 02 513 41 65
du mardi au samedi, de 18h30 à 22h30
le mercredi et le vendredi de midi à 14h
fermé le lundi et le dimanche
lunch : 15,50€
menu 4 services : 36€

 

C’est franchement difficile de ne pas adhérer au concept de Savage. Une cuisine où la viande et les poissons sont en extras, et où le légume est roi. On est pile dedans, c’est parfait pour maintenant. Pour Joël, le chef, c’était surtout déjà le cas à la maison, quand il était petit. Ce qui faisait sens à l’époque résonne encore plus fort aujourd’hui. Bref, on valide à 100%.

Concrètement, ça donne une formule lunch à 15,50€ et un 4 services le soir à 36€, végétarien only. L’idée, c’est que le menu se suffise à lui-même, bien sûr. Mais si on en a envie, on peut piocher dans les extras de viande ou poissons. C’est ce qu’on a fait ce midi-là, pour tester l’expérience jusqu’au bout, avec un magret de canard pour deux, pour accompagner nos assiettes composées d’algues, de brocoli, de pommes de terre et de pomme, et d’un jus lacto-fermenté – un délice, by the way. Le canard, délicieuse, était vraiment très copieux, même pour deux. Une quantité qui vaut peut-être la peine d’être réduite, pour rester fidèle au concept. Toujours est-il qu’on a super bien mangé, sur une des plus jolies terrasses du quartier.

La vaisselle – sur laquelle se croisent joyeusement cercueils, papillons et têtes de mort – a été peinte à la main en Hollande et illustrée par des personnes porteuses d’un handicap. C’est très différent de ce qu’on voit partout en ce moment, et c’est canon. A l’intérieur, la déco de l’ancien Kipkot – dont Louis, l’ancien propriétaire, est désormais l’associé du chef Joël – a également été revue de A à Z. C’est plus sombre, plus élégant aussi, avec une cuisine ouverte pour voir le chef tout en restant dans une ambiance intimiste. On s’y voit déjà très bien pour revenir tester le menu en soirée.

Une dernière chose : si vous passez par là, ne repartez pas sans avoir été faire un tour aux toilettes…

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *