Vertigo

Cocktail bar

7 rue de Rollebeek, 1000 BRUXELLES
02 511 95 17 – site web
OPEN FROM WENDESDAY FROM FRIDAY FROM 5PM TO 1AM
SATURDAY AND SUNDAY FROM 12 PM 1AM

You’ll make your way into Vertigo like you would into a secret passage. Though the place is not completely hidden, nor the address kept a secret, it isn’t that simple to find. Find the small door topped with the writing “LEstrille du vieux Bruxelles”, walk into the tiny alley and you’ll end up into one of the most typical and well preserved patios of Brussels.

The round tables for two and the light garlands across the patio have made it one of our favorite places for long warm Summer nights. But we’re glad to find the exact opposite inside, for days when the Belgian weather is more likely to be with us. Open wood fire, thick wooden beams, red brick walls, big shared tables with small candles and jazzy music make for a warm and intimate cocktail bar.
Behind the bar, Ennio will guide you through the cocktail list. After proving his talent at the Jalousy, the speakeasy a few streets down opened by Jérémy Renier and Renaud Deru, he just arrived as Head Mixologist at Vertigo, opened by the exact same team. Together with his brother, they’ve redefined a creative and sophisticated list of cocktails. We try the “Le Nuisette” (14€) under his advice, a tequila based cocktail, brought to our table on a little wooden pedestal. That’s when the magic happens. Ennio is back a few seconds later with a small blowtorch, and lights fire to a branch of rosemary which he then traps together with the cocktail into a glass globe. Only twenty seconds later, we get to try a perfectly smoked cocktail, delicate and sensual, exactly like the menu said in italic characters.
A love story that has only just begun.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Vertigo

bar à cocktail

7 rue de Rollebeek, 1000 BRUXELLES
02 511 95 17 – site web
OUVERT DU MERCREDI AU VENDREDI DE 17H à 01H
LE SAMEDI ET DIMANCHE DE 12H à 01H

On entre au Vertigo un peu comme dans un passage secret. Si le lieu n’est pas vraiment caché, ou encore moins l’adresse gardée secrète, il n’est pas pour autant évident à trouver. Repérez la porte cochère surmontée de l’enseigne “L’Estrille du vieux Bruxelles” en descendant la rue pavée, faufilez-vous le long du couloir sous l’arche de pierre, et vous aboutirez dans une des cours intérieures les plus typiques de Bruxelles.

Les petites tables rondes à l’abri de l’agitation et les guirlandes qui traversent la cour de part en part en ont fait un de nos endroits de prédilection pour les chaudes soirées d’été. On se réjouit de trouver le parfait opposé à l’intérieur, pour les jours où le temps Belge est quant à lui bien au rendez-vous. Feu ouvert, grosses poutres en bois surmontées de fer forgé, murs en briques rouges, grandes tablées illuminées de bougies et musique jazzy en font un bar à cocktail chaleureux et intimiste à a fois.
Derrière le bar, Ennio nous conseille sur la nouvelle carte des cocktails. Ayant d’abord fait ses preuves au Jalousy, le speakeasy du bas de la ville ouvert par Jérémie Renier et Renaud Deru, il vient tout juste d’arriver comme chef mixologue au Vertigo, ouvert par la même équipe, et en a profité pour redéfinir avec son frère une carte pointue et inventive. On tente “Le Nuisette” (14€), un cocktail à base de tequila qu’Ennio pose sur un socle devant nos yeux. C’est là que la magie opère. Il revient et allume au chalumeau une branche de romarin avant d’emprisonner le tout dans une cloche en verre. Quelques secondes à peine plus tard, on goûte à un breuvage savamment fumé, délicat et sensuel, comme indiqué en italique sur la carte de cocktails.
Une histoire d’amour qui ne fait que commencer.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *