Senzanome

italian gourmet restaurant

1 place du petit sablon, 1000 Bruxelles
site web
from monday to friday, from 12 to 1:30 and from 7pm to 9pm,
saturday from 7pm to 9pm
3-course lunch : 50€
6-course tasting menu : 110€

What we like about the Senzanome, is the simplicity of its chef, Giovanni Bruno. In his Michelin-starred Italian restaurant in the heart of Sablon, you could think quite the opposite. Though the location and the numerous prizes can seem quite intimidating, inside, everything feels smooth and extremely easy, a bit like when you’re strolling in the halls of one of those Four Seasons hotels, where everything seems to fall right into place.
As we arrived a bit early to take photos before service, we met the chef on his way out, ready to walk his dog. « I won’t have the time to after », he told us in the simplest of ways, a big smile on his face. There are no frills here at Senzanome, but a warm Italian welcome and extremely professional service – the type that makes itself forgotten without ever forgetting the customers, with smiles and always open to have a laugh. Everything we like about a great restaurant. Food wise, we felt the same generosity we already enjoyed so much at Fico, the restaurant opened by Nadia – Giovanni’s sister – in Châtelain. Here, the chef who has been awarded with a Michelin star in 2004, a jury for the San Pellegrino Young Chefs in 2016 and won a score of 16/20 at the Gault & Millau, is taking things a little further.
We started our lunch menu with small appetizes – focaccia with Colonnata Lardo and a tiny minestrone soup with Borlotti beans and pecorino foam. Both were extremely comforting Italian classics and both were delicious. Then the show started with an amazing boletus mushroom dish, served with grilled scallops (the firsts of the season) and white truffle, followed by a delicious white fish filet with bergamot – but what we liked the most was the incredible al ragu pasta dish, casually slipped between two extremely fancy dishes into our lunch menu. And that’s the real reason we go to Senzanome, and also the reason we go back: to eat excellent and authentic Italian food.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Senzanome

cuisine italienne gastronomique

1 place du petit sablon, 1000 Bruxelles
site web
du lundi au vendredi, de midi à 13h30 et de 19h à 21h,
le samedi de 19h à 21h
lunch 3 services : 50€
menu dégustation 6 services : 110€

Ce qu’on aime chez Giovanni Bruno, c’est sa simplicité. Dans son resto italien étoilé du Sablon, on pourrait pourtant être amené à penser le contraire. L’adresse, son prestige et sa position géographique peuvent intimider, c’est vrai. Pourtant, à l’intérieur, tout devient simple et fluide, un peu comme dans ces hôtels Four Seasons où l’on a l’impression de flotter en déambulant dans les couloirs, tant tout nous parait agréable.

Arrivée un peu avant le service pour prendre des photos, je croise le chef, parti promener son chien. « Après je n’aurais plus le temps », me dit-il, tout simplement, le sourire aux lèvres. Pas de chichis ou de chuchotements dans ce restaurant, mais un accueil à l’italienne, un service chaleureux et surtout ultra précis – qui sait se faire oublier sans jamais nous oublier, et qui place très justement un sourire ou une touche d’humour quand l’occasion se présente. Tout ce qu’on aime d’une belle adresse. Dans l’assiette aussi, on retrouve la générosité de la famille Bruno, qu’on connaissait déjà bien pour la deuxième enseigne de la sœur Nadia, installée au Châtelain avec Fico. Ici, le chef Giovanni – récompensé d’une étoile au Michelin depuis 2004, jury des San Pellegrino Young Chefs de 2016 et couronné d’un 16/20 au Gault & Millau – monte, et garde, la barre haut.
On commence le lunch par des petites mises en bouche – focaccia recouverte de lard Colonnata et mini minestrone aux haricots Borlotti et émulsion de pecorino. C’est réconfortant et régressif, et très très bon. Le menu monte en finesse avec une poêlée de cèpes et de Saint-Jacques (les premières de la saison) à la truffe blanche, ou encore un délicieux filet de maigre à la bergamote – mais ce qui nous touche vraiment, c’est cette incroyable assiette de tagliatelle al ragu, glissée entre deux plats du menu comme si de rien n’était. Avant de manger étoilé chez Giovanni, on mange surtout italien. Et c’est pour ça qu’on revient.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *