LIB

cocktail bar

161 RUE ANTOINE DANSAERT, 1000 BRUXELLES
02 223 59 99 – WEBSITE
OPEN FROM WEDNESDAY TO THURSDAY FROM 5PM TO MIDNIGHT
SATURDAY AND SUNDAY FROM 6PM TO 1AM

Opened in June 2016 in the Dansaert neighbourhood, LIB, or Life is Beautiful, joined the high-end mixology trend, that had recently been spreading over Brussels.
Hortense had been the initiator of the movement in 2013, with their intimate bar and sophisticated cocktails. And it’s three years later, (about time you may say), that we start seeing the opening of several dedicated cocktails bars, more or less secret, and more or less successful, over the capital.

The opening of LIB is rather good news, especially now that our dear Hortense has turned more into a restaurant, and what is more, in a place where they can only be proud to be the firsts.
We will now go all the way downtown to enjoy our cocktails.

Before opening LIB, Harouna first went through Toukoul restaurant, where his mixology skills would compliment the Ethiopian food. He then joined the Stoefer team, where he found a real spot behind the bar. It’s only after having moved to Brussels for four years, that he finally opens his own place, together with his partner Caroline.

LIB is a tiny and modest bar, where Harouna will greet you warmly as soon as you step in, hidden among his impressive collection of spirits. No dress code or secret address here, and we’re truly excited to be able to enjoy inspired and inspiring cocktails in such a relaxed atmosphere. No time to check the menu, Harouna asks us what we like. As we’re not experts in the matter, we try something like « not too sweet, rather sour or bitter », and wait to see the magic happen.
Harouna brings me an interpretation of the Gentleman, decorated with a tiny lemon zest bow tie. The juniper is here replaced by gin, which is accompanied by elderflower liqueur, Cynar, sugar syrup, egg white, and lemon, and garnished with some juniper grated over it. What can I say, except that it was delicious, that I probably drank it too quickly, and that I will definitely remember its name for my next visit. Sarah, adventurous at heart, is tempted by a peat whiskey accompanied by beet syrup, Campari, lemon, hellfire bitter, and a tiny bit of green chartreuse. A variation of the “Final Word”, with Cynar replacing the cherry liqueur. We are impressed by the softness of this cocktail, powerful and yet so easy to drink at the same time.

On the food side, along with the small popcorn plates served with the cocktails, Caroline also prepares three different kinds of small bites. We try the homemade dukkah (a middle-eastern mix of nuts, seeds and spices), served with bread and olive oil. The mix is filled with strong flavours and is perfect to dip a piece of bread, along with some strong cocktails.

In addition to the bar, Harouna and Caroline also organize tastings and masterclasses, where you will have the opportunity to make a rather classic cocktail, then your own interpretation of it. Keep checking their Facebook page to sign up for future events. In any case, we know we will.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

LIB

life is beautiful

161 RUE ANTOINE DANSAERT, 1000 BRUXELLES
02 223 59 99 – SITE WEB
OUVERT LE MERCREDI ET JEUDI DE 17H à MINUIT
LE SAMEDI ET DIMANCHE DE 18H à 1H

Ouvert en juin 2016 dans le quartier Dansaert, LIB, ou Life is Beautiful pour les intimes, s’inscrit dans la tendance mixologie-pointue qu’on voit se répandre depuis peu sur Bruxelles.
Hortense avait lancé le mouvement en 2013, avec son bar intimiste et ses cocktails high-level, complexes et jouissifs à la fois. Et c’est trois ans plus tard (quand même), qu’on voit arriver l’ouverture de plusieurs bars à cocktails spécialisés, plus ou moins secrets, et plus ou moins réussis, sur la capitale.

Coté LIB, c’est plutôt une bonne nouvelle, qui arrive à pic, avec la transformation de notre cher Hortense en restaurant, et qui plus est, dans un quartier où ils peuvent se vanter d’être les premiers. On descendra désormais dans le centre, presque jusqu’au canal, pour siroter son cocktail.

Avant d’ouvrir LIB, Harouna est d’abord passé par le bar du Toukoul, où il associait ses talents de mixologue à la cuisine éthiopienne. Il rejoint ensuite le Stoefer, et trouve une vraie place derrière le bar. Mais c’est seulement après quatre ans à Bruxelles, qu’il ouvrira enfin son propre établissement avec sa compagne Caroline.

LIB est un petit bar sans prétention, où l’on est accueilli chaleureusement par Harouna, dissimulé parmi ses nombreuses bouteilles de spiritueux. Pas de dress code ou d’adresse secrète ici, et on se réjouit déjà de déguster des cocktails inspirants et inspirés, en toute décontraction.
Pas le temps d’apercevoir le menu, Harouna nous demande ce que l’on aime. Pas expertes en l’art, on se lâche sur des « plutôt amer, plutôt sur, pas trop sucré », et on attend de voir la magie opérer. J’ai droit à un Gentleman revisité, garni d’un petit noeud pap’ en zeste de citron. Le genièvre est ici remplacé par du gin, qui est accompagné de liqueur de fleurs de sureau, de cynar, de sirop de sucre, de blanc d’œuf, de citron jaune, et garni de genièvre rapé par dessus. Que dire, à part que c’était un régal, bu trop vite, mais dont je me souviendrais certainement du nom, pour mon prochain passage. Sarah, aventurière dans l’âme, se laisse tenter par un whiskey tourbé accompagné d’un sirop de betteraves, de Campari, citron jaune, hellfire bitter, et un tout petit peu de chartreuse verte. Une variation du « Final Word », avec du Cynar remplaçant la liqueur de cerise. On est impressionnées par la douceur de ce cocktail, puissant et léger à la fois.

Coté cuisine, en plus des petits raviers de popcorn, Caroline concocte trois suggestions d’apéros, pour accompagner les cocktails. On goute au dukkah maison (un mélange d’épices, de graines et de noix), servi avec de l’huile d’olive et la baguette. C’est parfumé et plein de gout, juste ce qu’il nous fallait.

En plus du bar, Harouna et Caroline organisent également des dégustations et des masterclass, où vous aurez l’occasion de réaliser un cocktail plutôt classique, et d’en refaire votre propre interprétation. Scrutez leur page Facebook pour vous inscrire aux prochaines éditions. En tout cas, nous on sait qu’on sera là.





Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *