Iit kitchen

Mediterranean counter

503 avenue Louise, 1050 Bruselles
instagramwebsite
Monday to Friday from 9 am to 4 pm,
Saturday from 11 am to 2 pm

Dahlia and Katia are high up in the list of reasons you should visit iit Kitchen. Their kindness, generosity and the warm welcome they give as soon as you walk in the door make all the difference. They’ve been partners at iit Kitchen for 12 years now, and have been sister in law for much longer. Both in their private and professional lives, they form an unbeatable duo, just as joyful as their cuisine.

Let’s talk about their cuisine. They first started off with Italian specialties, hence the name “iit” kitchen, then eventually returned to their true love: Middle Eastern food. As we walked through the doors of their Ixelles counter, we spotted Dahlia behind a colorful buffet, ready to tell about each one of the dishes to any customer that walks in. The menu changes every day, although some of the best-sellers simply cannot leave the menu.

We started composing our plates by picking among the colorful dishes that caught our eye – a true dilemma. Of course we went for the truffle potato gratin – one of the few dishes that never leaves the counter – comforting as ever. We added dhaal curry with coconut lentils, kefta with red peppers and spices and roast cauliflower, tahine smoked eggplants with pomegranate and flat-leaf parsley. Then we topped off our plate, quite full already, with some extra leeks with parmesan cream, which turned out to be slightly undercooked to our taste.

A few visits later, it’s all the same: not once did we leave Katia and Dahlia’s little counter without way too much to eat. Because, just like the girls running iit kitchen, Mediterranean cuisine is all about generosity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Iit kitchen

comptoir méditerranéen

503 avenue Louise, 1050 Bruxelles
instagramsite
du lundi au vendredi de 9h à 16h,
samedi de 11h à 14h

Parmi les raisons de se rendre chez iit kitchen, il y a tout d’abord Dahlia et Katia. C’est elles qui nous ont séduites avant tout, de par leur accueil et leur gentillesse. Associées depuis 12 ans derrière les fourneaux, belles-soeurs dans la vie de tous les jours depuis encore plus longtemps, elles forment à elles deux un duo solaire. Solaire, tout comme leur cuisine d’ailleurs. 

Mais la cuisine, parlons-en. D’abord intéressées par l’univers italien, elles finiront par revenir à leur premier amour; la cuisine du Moyen-Orient. En passant le pas de la porte de ce traiteur ixellois, on retrouve Dahlia derrière un buffet riche en couleurs, prête à nous conseiller parmi la diversité des énormes plats qui nous font face. Elle nous explique que la carte change tous les jours, bien que certaines pépites reviennent quotidiennement. 

On compose alors notre assiette en piochant parmi ce qui nous fait de l’oeil. Au vu de toutes les préparations, le choix est cornélien. On se laisse tenter par le gratin de pommes de terre à la truffe (of course), plus réconfortant que jamais. On y ajoute le daal curry coco lentilles aubergines, des boulettes kefta aux poivrons et aux épices et du chou-fleur cru et cuit, tahine aux aubergines fumées, grenade et persil plat. On termine notre assiette, déjà bien assez chargée, par la fondue de poireaux, parmesan, oeufs et crème, qui s’avèrera légèrement trop peu fondante à notre goût. 

Quelques visites plus tard, le constat reste le même ; pas une fois sommes-nous ressorties de là sans beaucoup trop de choses à manger. Parce que c’est ça aussi l’essence de la cuisine méditerranéenne; la générosité. 

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *