Moka

espresso bar

5 RUE DES RICHES CLAIRES, 1000 BRUXELLES
WEBSITE
OPEN FROM TUESDAY TO FRIDAY FROM 8 TO 6PM
saturday from 11 to 6pm

Away from the fuss of Boulevard Anspach, tied in the little paved street of Riches Claires, lies the tiny coffee bar Moka. This neighborhood institution, as big as pocket handkerchief, was taken over in 2015 by Anne-Audrey and her barista friend Fernanda.

Needless to worry therefore about the coffee, the cappuccino foam is still as airy as it gets. On the bar side, the offer has widened a little as Moka now offers beers as well. Their third partner, Axel de Ville, brews his own Belgian beer, which he named Illegal. It’s now available on their big black board, along with a couple of other very local ones, side by side with their list of coffees.
If the interior definitely had a little makeover – new tiles behind the kitchen counter, colourful paint on the walls and a little jungle hanging in the back room – the spirit of the place remained the same. The vintage Faema coffee machine, already an icon before Moka was reopened, didn’t move a notch. We still order espresso at the counter, on a jazzy sound background, and still sit at their little red tables out in the sun to enjoy our cappuccino.
The girls work with their own blend, a mix from Brazil, Guatemala and Cuba, and prepare homemade pastries daily. One of our best spots downtown.

brussels-kitchen-bar-moka-cafe-bruxelles05brussels-kitchen-bar-moka-cafe-bruxelles06

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Moka

espresso bar

5 RUE DES RICHES CLAIRES, 1000 BRUXELLES
SITE WEB
OUVERT DU MARDI AU VENDREDI DE 8h à 18h
LE SAMEDI DE 11h à 18h

A l’écart de la cohue du nouveau piétonnier, dans la petite ruelle pavée des Riches Claires, se trouve le minuscule bar à café Moka.
Cette institution du quartier Saint-Géry de la taille d’un mouchoir de poche fut reprise en 2015 par Anne-Audrey et son amie Fernanda, barista de formation.

Aucune inquiétude donc coté café, la mousse de lait est toujours aussi bien exécutée. Côté bar, l’offre s’agrandit car Moka propose désormais également de la bière, et pas n’importe laquelle. Leur troisième associé, Axel de Ville, brasse une bière belge baptisée Illégale, désormais disponible sur le grand tableau noir, aux côtés des différents cafés.
Si à l’intérieur du bar Moka le relooking fut de mise – du carrelage neuf, quelques coups de peinture et une petite jungle suspendue dans la pièce du fond – l’esprit est resté le même. La machine à café Faema vintage, déjà emblématique avant réouverture, n’a quant à elle, pas bougé d’un poil. On commande toujours son espresso au comptoir, sur un fond sonore jazzy, et on se pose toujours aux petites tables rouges de la terrasse pour déguster son cappuccino.
Les filles travaillent avec un leur propre blend, un mélange du Brésil, du Guatemala et de Cuba, et préparent tous les jours une série de pâtisseries maison. Une petite adresse parmi nos favorites en ville.

brussels-kitchen-bar-moka-cafe-bruxelles05brussels-kitchen-bar-moka-cafe-bruxelles06

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *