Mine Madeh

Syrian street-food

Place Jourdan 390
1040 Eterbeek – instagram
Madeh : 8€ / Pain : 1€
Barquette de Halloumi, aubergines et sauce à l’ail : 6€

It was really good. Like really, really good. It’s not like we ever had any doubts, thought, ever since we heard that Georges (cfr: C’Chiccounou and My Tannour) was about to open yet another venue. Georges’s cooking has something that, in my opinion, makes the Mediterranean so special: an unprecedented generosity, with which he both cooks and greets his customers.

His latest concept to date: the Madeh, adapted by Georges of course. Here, unlike at My Tannour, the Madeh is not the name of the bread but of the meat with which it is stuffed. Originally, the Madeh is a Syrian preparation based on minced meat of lamb and beef, cooked in the oven in a large dish. In the local markets, one even goes from stand to stand, taking turns buying Madeh, bread, then grilled vegetables, ending up with a result not too far from George’s new concept: a home-made bread stuffed with Madeh.

The dough of the bread, prepared according to a traditional Syrian recipe, is quite similar to the dough of some of the best pizzas we know. The difference is that here it’s stuffed with minced meat, grilled vegetables, then toasted on the plancha. Why toasted? To create a crust and prevent it from becoming crumbly with the juice of the meat and vegetables. Genius? You could say so.

Two versions with minced meat, and a third vegetarian version with grilled halloumi are available. They all cost 8€, and are all so generous they’re hard to finish. For now, you can rush to Mine Madeh for take-out, or have it delivered to your home. But hurry up. If you know a little bit about My Tannour, you won’t be surprised to see a long line soon crossing the Place Jourdan anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mine Madeh

Street-food syrienne

Place Jourdan 390
1040 Eterbeek – instagram
Madeh : 8€ / Pain : 1€
Barquette de Halloumi, aubergines et sauce à l’ail : 6€

C’était vraiment bon. Même vraiment très bon. En même temps, depuis qu’on avait appris l’ouverture de cet énième établissement de Georges (cfr : C’Chiccounou et My Tannour), pas une seule seconde on en avait douté. Georges possède dans sa cuisine ce qui fait, selon moi, la particularité de la Méditerranée, à savoir une générosité sans précédent, dont il farci son pain maison et qu’il diffuse à ses clients.

Son dernier concept en date : le Madeh, détourné à la Georges bien évidemment. Ici, contrairement à My Tannour, le Madeh n’est pas le nom du pain mais bien de la viande dont il est farci. A l’origine, le Madeh est une préparation syrienne à base de viande hachée d’agneau et de bœuf, cuite au four dans un grand plat. Dans les marchés locaux, on passe même de stand en stand, se servir tour à tour de Madeh, de pain, puis de légumes grillés, pour finir avec un résultat non sans ressemblance au nouveau concept de Georges : un pain maison farci de Madeh.

La pâte du pain, selon une recette traditionnelle syrienne, ressemble assez à la pâte de certaines de nos meilleures pizzas. A la différence qu’il est ici farci de viande hachée, de légumes grillés, et est ensuite toasté. Pourquoi toasté ? Pour lui créer une croute et l’empêcher de devenir friable avec le jus de la viande et des légumes. Du génie ? On peut le dire.

Deux versions à base de viande hachée de bœuf et d’agneau, et une version végé à base de halloumi grillé. Toutes à 8€, et toutes tellement généreuses qu’elles en sont difficiles à finir. Pour l’instant, on s’y précipite pour emporter son Madeh avec soi, ou on se le fait déjà livrer chez soi. Mais dépêchez-vous. Si vous connaissez un tout petit peu My Tannour, vous ne serez pas surpris de voir bientôt une longue file traverser la place Jourdan.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *