Humphrey

Sharing plate experience

36-38 ST-LAURENT STREET, 1000 BRUSSELS
+32 472 049 580 – SITE WEB
OPEN FROM MONDAY TO FRIDAY
FROM 12 TO 3PM AND FROM 6PM TO 10:30PM

After six years in Noma’s kitchens, Yannick Van Aeken opened his restaurant in Brussels, right next to the music label PIAS. And unlike what most people would have expected, he did not go reaching for the star. Well at least not quite yet.

Together with his Filipino co-founder Glen Ramaekers, they created a surprising menu, based on discovery and authentic flavour combinations. Their philosophy, sharing is caring, is perfectly reflected in their small plates to share. Their menu is inspired by the Filipino cuisine and divided into themes : Small Humphrey, Humphrey Light, Umami and old school. All ranging between 9 and 18 euros.
The buffalo wings with celeriac and blue cheese sauce is definitely a must. We also tried a scallop and leek carpaccio, a roasted avocado with spring onions and a sweet potato Kare Kare, and finished off with an incredibly perfectly grilled octopus, picked in the “Umami” column. The scallops simply melted in our mouths, and the grilled avocado topped with spring onions and fresh chilies was a complete discovery which we directly fell in love with. And the Kare Kare, well it was a flavour explosion, nothing less.

The interior renovation, carried out by the master Frederic Nicolay himself, gives the restaurant a very laid-back atmosphere, which is rarely combined with this kind of cuisine. Two parallel green marble counters lie diagonally accros the room, setting the limits of the open kitchen. The wooden tables are dimly lit, making the rest of the restaurant disappear into the dark, resulting in a both very casual and intimate atmosphere. A perfect balance we can find in every bit of what Humphrey has to offer.









Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Humphrey

Petits plats à partager

36-38 RUE ST-LAURENT, 1000 BRUXELLES
+32 472 049 580 – SITE WEB
OUVERT DU LUNDI AU VENDREDI
DE 12H A 15H ET DE 18H A 22H30

Après avoir passé six ans dans les cuisines du Noma, c’est à côté de la maison de disque PIAS, que Yannick Van Aeken décide d’ouvrir son restaurant. Et contrairement à ce que son parcours aurait pu laisser penser, Yannick n’ira pas chercher directement l’étoile.

Avec son associé Glen Ramaekers d’origine Philippine, ils créent une carte inventive, basée sur la découverte et sur les associations de saveurs justes. Dans l’assiette, c’est le goût qui prédomine, et la philosophie de la maison : “sharing is caring”. Composée de petits plats à partager et inspirée par la cuisine philippine, la carte est divisée par thèmes : Petit Humphrey, Humphrey Light, Umami et Old School. Le tout entre 9 et 18 euros.
Les chicken wings, céleri et sauce au bleu de la colonne « Old School » sont une valeur sûre. On part ensuite en exploration ; carpaccio de Saint-Jacques et poireaux, Kare Kare de patates douces et avocat grillé aux jeunes oignons, et on termine par un incroyable poulpe braisé. Les Saint-Jacques fondent à chaque bouchée, et l’avocat grillé, assaisonné de jeunes oignons et de chili est un coup de cœur. Quant au Kare Kare, c’est littéralement une explosion de saveurs.

L’intérieur, géré de main de maître par Frédéric Nicolay, confère au lieu une ambiance décontractée, que l’on associe encore peu avec ce genre de cuisine. Deux comptoirs parallèles en marbre vert traversent l’espace en diagonale, délimitant la cuisine ouverte. L’éclairage ponctuel est focalisé sur les tables, plongeant dans le noir le reste de l’espace. Le résultat est une atmosphère décontractée et intime à la fois.
Un équilibre savamment dosé que l’on se réjouit de retrouver également dans l’assiette.









Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *