Certo

Faim & Soif

certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen01

48 RUE LONGUE VIE, 1050 IXELLES
+32 473 49 64 93 – SITE WEB
OPEN FROM TUESDAY TO FRIDAY FROM 11AM TO 11PM

A week right after the restaurant reopened, we decided it was time to push the doors of what used to be our neighbourhood beloved Italian ; Unico. The windows were now displaying strong blue rounded letters on each window, forming the name Certo.

Certo was opened by Federico Mazzoni, originally from Rome, who had been operating the famous Caffe al Dente for years. With help from the architects Lhoas & Lhoas, his Sicilian chef and his graphic designer wife, he was able to transform this cosy and warm place, without altering its spirit. The tiny restaurant is fresh and crisp, mostly white with hints of blue and pink. Though the owners and the interior have changed, the story remains the same. You’ll come here to enjoy authentic Italian produce, together with about twenty other guests, while sipping a glass of Italian red wine. And it does still feel like home.

The menu is quite short and changes more or less weekly. They prepare classics such as the Sicilian caponata and the carpaccio di manzo, along with calamarata pasta with Italian salsiccia, or spaghetti cacio e pepe (pecorino cheese and fresh black ground pepper), highlighting the simplicity of the Roman cuisine. Finish off with a plate of delicious cheese, they simply go great with Damien Bouchery’s freshly baked bread. Heaven.

certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen02 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen06 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen03 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen05

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Certo

Faim & Soif

certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen01

48 RUE LONGUE VIE, 1050 IXELLES
+32 473 49 64 93 – SITE WEB
OUVERT DU MARDI AU VENDREDI DE 11h A 23h

C’est un vendredi midi, la semaine suivant tout juste la réouverture, que nous nous sommes décidées à pousser la porte de l’ancien Unico, entièrement métamorphosé et affichant désormais les lettres Certo sur sa vitrine.

Certo est la nouvelle adresse de Federico Mazzoni, romain de souche oeuvrant au célèbre Caffè Al Dente depuis des années. Avec l’aide des architectes Lhoas & Lhoas, de sa femme graphiste et de son chef sicilien, il transforme avec justesse cet endroit cosy et chaleureux, en un lieu teinté de blanc, bleu et de vieux rose. Le ton change, mais l’histoire reste la même. On vient ici pour se sentir comme à la maison, parmi tout juste une vingtaine d’autres convives, et déguster une cuisine italienne justement exécutée, accompagnée d’un bon verre de vin.

La carte est courte et change au fil des semaines. On y retrouve de grands classiques qui mettent parfaitement en valeur la simplicité de la cuisine italienne : carpaccio di manzo, caponata sicilienne, calamarata au ragout de saucisse, spaghetti Cacio e Pepe (poivre noir du moulin et pecorino, dans la plus pure tradition romaine), ainsi que de très bons fromages transalpins que l’on déguste avec joie sur du pain confectionné quotidiennement par Damien Bouchery. Bonheur.

certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen02 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen06 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen04 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen03 certo-faim-et-soif-restaurant-unico-resto-italien-pates-pasta-brussels-bruxelles-porte-de-namur-food-foodie-brusselskitchen-kitchen05

2 Responses to Certo

  1. Greg says:

    Ooooh c’est bon de vous revoir 🙂 Et il a l’air troooop ce resto, j’y cours 😉

  2. Pingback: L’Architecte | Brussels' Kitchen

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *