Liesse

Alsatian counter

57 avenue Adolphe Demeur,
1060 Saint-Gilles
instagram
Thursday to Monday from 11:30am à 10:30pm

The first time we came, it was on Friday for their big opening. Liesse means “collective joy,” explained Pauline. Pauline is half of the duo behind Bouchée Double, and she’s the one taking over Liesse’s kitchen, with her small team. We’ll come back to that. In the Adolphe Demeur street, the size of the pavement has tripled, transformed into a giant terrace by the current context, and there is a serious holiday atmosphere. Even masked, it seems that nothing can reach the collective joy of the customers who come and go to the small counter – designed by the very cool architecture office DEV-Space – to place their orders. It’s Friday night in the air, and the evening is off to a good start.

We order “La Knack” (8€) – with homemade pretzel bread. Mamma Mia. And a bottle of natural orange wine, Alsatian of course (45€). We’re really, really good. Flamekueche come and go around us, and you can feel the bustle behind the little counter.

There is a real communicative joy in and outside this little place, enhanced by the wine, the laughter, friends and pretzel bread.

Liesse is a culinary hub, a place for aspiring chefs to be, or for confirmed chefs who want to validate their concept on a small scale, before going big. It’s a project launched by Pierre and Thuan (Chez Ta Mère), with great values and great suppliers too (Les vins Pépins, the cheese maker La Fruitière). Their baby was born with Pauline and her team from Bouchée Double, who were resident for the first three months. After that? Everything is possible, but what is certain is that Liesse wants to be inclusive, and off the beaten path. We would dream of welcoming an African chef, says Pierre. An Indian chef too, and why not Mexican. But for the moment, we’ll come here for a bite of Alsace, and it’s already very, very good.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Liesse

comptoir alsacien

57 avenue Adolphe Demeur,
1060 Saint-Gilles
instagram
Jeudi au Lundi de 11h30 à 22h30
Flamekueche : 9€ – 12€
Mauricettes garnies : 7€-8€

On y était d’abord venues vendredi pour l’ouverture. Liesse, ça veut dire joie collective, nous explique Pauline. Pauline, c’est la moitié du duo derrière Bouchée Double, et c’est elle qui a pris les rennes de la cuisine de Liesse, avec sa petite équipe. On y reviendra. Dans la rue Adolphe Demeur, le trottoir a triplé de largeur, transformé en terrasse géante par le contexte actuel, et il y règne un sérieux air de vacances. Même masqués, on dirait que rien ne peut atteindre la joie collective des clients qui vont et viennent jusqu’au petit comptoir pour passer commande. C’est vendredi soir dans l’air, et la soirée commence bien.

On commande « La Knack » (8€) – dont le pain Bretzel a été confectionné maison. Mamma Mia. Et une bouteille de vin orange nature, alsacien évidemment (45€). On est tellement bien. Autour de nous vont et viennent des Flamekueche, et on sent l’agitation derrière le petit comptoir.

Il règne dans ce petit endroit, et tout autour, une réelle joie de vivre communicative, multipliée par le vin, les rires, les copains et le pain à Bretzel.

Liesse, c’est une pépinière culinaire, un hub pour chefs en devenir, ou pour chefs aguerris qui désirent valider leur concept à petite échelle, avant de se lancer en grand. C’est un projet lancé par Pierre et Thuan (Chez Ta Mère), avec des belles valeurs et de chouettes fournisseurs dedans (Les vins Pépins, le fromager La Fruitière). Leur bébé est né avec Pauline et son équipe de Bouchée Double, résidentes pour ces trois premiers mois, en tout cas. Après ? Après tout est possible, mais ce qui est sûr c’est que Liesse se veut inclusif, et hors des sentiers-battus. On rêverait d’accueillir un.e chef.ffe africain.e, nous dit Pierre. Et de la cuisine indienne aussi, et pourquoi pas mexicaine. Mais pour l’instant, on y vient pour croquer un bout d’Alsace, et c’est déjà très, très bien.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *