Le Bain des Dames

snack de terroir et vins naturels

186 chaussée de vleurgat, 1050 Ixelles
+32 2 512 67 26 – site web
from wednesday to sunday, from 5pm to 1am,
wine by the glass : 5,50€ – 8€
small plates : 5€ – 15€

It’s not a coincidence if the Le Bain des Dames is the name of a creek in Marseilles. Quick looks at the menu got us to figure out straight away what made this wine bar so special. Of course, the excellent natural wines is a big part of it – we’ll get back to that in a minute. But what striked us right away is the list of super sexy small dishes – centered around fish and seafood mostly – that could easily dance circles around any hot restaurant’s new menu.

But not, this is still a bar, and it’s pure bliss to be able to sip on a glass of amazing wine while enjoying tuna tartar, plancha grilled trout, panisse or pumpkin with gorgonzola cheese. All of the above, sitting on a high stool at the counter or at one of the little tables, in an extremely laid-back atmosphere, and with a kitchen taking orders up until 11:30pm.
Delphine, originally from Marseilles, is passionate about natural wines and has worked at Titulus for 2 years before opening her own bar. Every night, she’ll pick a 6 or 7 magnums, that she’ll serve by the glass with prices ranging super reasonably from 5 to 8€. Her orange wines are definitely worth a try. By partnering with Alexis (ex-Graam), they combined a super funky wine list with weekly specials that make us want to go back every week. In Marseilles, Le Bain des Dames is a creek where friends and family meet on hot Summer days to grill fish and have drinks along the water. With their sea-based menu, their plancha and their small terrace painted in bright Klein blue, we almost feel as though we’re there, right by the water. And as for the friends, that’s already settled. Midnight has only just passed that the door opened to chefs and sommeliers from the best restaurants around – Ötap, 203, Le Tournant, and a few more. It very much looks like great minds do think alike.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Le Bain des Dames

snack de terroir et vins naturels

186 chaussée de vleurgat, 1050 Ixelles
+32 2 512 67 26 – site web
du mercredi au dimanche, de 17h à 1h,
vins au verre : 5€ – 8€
petits plats : 5€ – 15€

Ce n’est pas pour rien que le Bain des Dames porte le nom d’une Calanque marseillaise. Quelques coups d’oeil rapides au tableau noir permettront de voir tout de suite ce qui fait la différence dans ce petit bar à vin. Bien sur, les vins y sont nature, et très bien choisis – on y reviendra. Mais ce qui saute aux yeux tout de suite, c’est la liste alléchante de petits plats, centrée principalement autour des produits de la mer, digne de n’importe quel resto dont on ne cesserait de parler en ce moment.

Mais non, on se trouve bien dans un bar, et c’est un bonheur absolu de pouvoir siroter un verre d’excellent vin tout en dégustant tartare de thon, truite à la plancha, panisse ou potiron au gorgonzola. Tout ça, accoudé au bar ou posé à une petite table, en toute décontraction et avec une cuisine ouverte jusque 23h30.
Delphine, originaire de Marseille et passionnée de vins natures, a fait ses armes à Bruxelles chez Titulus avant d’ouvrir son propre bar. Tous les soirs, elle choisit quelques magnums qu’elle servira au verre entre 5€ et 8€ – dont de superbes vins oranges. En s’associant avec Alexis (ex-Graam), ils combinent avec énormément de gourmandise une carte de vins excessivement rock n’roll et des suggestions qui mériteraient qu’on revienne y faire un tour chaque semaine. A Marseille justement, la calanque du Bain des Dames est réputée pour réunir famille et copains autour de grillades, les après-midi d’été au bord de l’eau. Avec leurs produits de la mer, leur plancha et leur petite terrasse d’un bleu Klein explosif, on s’y croirait presque – manque plus que le soleil. Et pour ce qui est des copains, on y est déjà. Le coup de minuit vient à peine de sonner qu’on y retrouve toute la clique. Un à un, on y voit débarquer les chefs et sommeliers de chez Ötap, du 203, du Tournant et j’en passe. On dirait bien que les grands esprits se rencontrent.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *