Café Caberdouche

bar, café, brunch

8 Place de la Liberté, 1000 Bruxelles
02 356 14 05 – WEBSITE
open everyday from 9am to midnight
lunch special : 13-15€

As our breaded chicken salad lays before us, we are thrown back a couple of years earlier, when the word had yet a a slightly different meaning. With its tomates cut into wedges and its perfectly diagonal cucumber slices, the salads at Café Caberdouche have that little something to remind us of our childhood, and most specifically, of our beloved Belgian roots.

This is not the city center, nor even the Marolles neighbourhood, but an area lesser known, with a no less enchanting name: Notre Dame aux Neige (which translates into Our Snow Lady, or something like that). Café Caberdouche, with its sunny terrace who would almost make the Belga blush, has got everything we’re looking for in a bar. Bright spaces, pretty benches covered in emerald green velvet, friendly staff and a menu that has got what you’re looking for – from morning till very early morning – including a brunch buffet every Sunday (17,50€).
For lunch, apart from the salads, the ham and cheese toasts, the lasagnas and vegetable plates available every day, Caberdouche also offer two inspired lunch specials – sea bass with lime sauce, chicken à la “chasseur”, Buddha bowls with sweet potatoes, to name a few – with always a vegetarian option (13-15€). As for drinks, we promise you won’t be lost: from Sptitz to Cosmo, without missing on natural wines and a long Belgian beer list. No wonder as we are sitting in an old café from Brussels – having kept only the name Caberdouche, a somewhat friendly name given in the days to the rather questionable cafés who used to fill the little square.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Café Caberdouche

bar et cantine de quartier

8 Place de la Liberté, 1000 Bruxelles
02 356 14 05 – SITE WEB
ouvert tous les jours de 9h à minuit
plat du jour : 13-15€

Notre salade au poulet pané est à peine posée devant nous qu’on se remémore avec nostalgie ce que ce terme nous évoquait quelques années plus tôt. Avec ses tomates coupées en quartiers et ses rondelles de concombre, les salades du Caberdouche ont ce je ne sais quoi qui nous ramène en enfance, et certainement au plus proche de nos racines belges.

On ne se trouve pas dans le centre, ni même en plein cœur des Marolles, mais dans le quartier au nom enchanteur – et un peu moins connu – de Notre Dame aux Neiges. Le Caberdouche, avec sa terrasse qui ferait presque rougir le Belga, a tout pour nous plaire. Grands espaces lumineux, jolies banquettes émeraude en velours, personnel sympa et une carte pour trouver notre bonheur du matin jusqu’au petit matin, en faisant un détour par le Brunch (17,50€ le dimanche pour un buffet à volonté).
Pour le lunch, en plus de ses salades, croques, lasagnes et assiettes de légumes, le Caberdouche propose également deux plats du jour inspirés – dorade au citron vert, poulet sauce chasseur ou encore buddha bowl aux patates douces – avec toujours une option végétarienne (13 – 15€). Et pour l’apéro, vous ne serez pas perdus, tout y est : du Spritz au Cosmo, sans oublier le vin nature ou la liste interminable de bières belges. C’est qu’on se trouve ici dans un ancien café bruxellois – n’ayant gardé plus que le nom de Caberdouche, appellation autrefois attribuée affectueusement aux troquets plutôt mal famés qui emplissaient la place.


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *